RBM-022 | An American Celebration

View Sample Pages:

SATB Vocal Score

Full Score


Full Orchestral excerpt

An American Celebration
SATB chorus with Orchestral or Wind Ensemble Accompaniment

This 3-movement patriotic composition was commissioned by the Houston Symphony Orchestra to serve as a patriotic “finale” for their Independence Day concert series during the summer of 2005. The first performance of the work was July 4th of that year in The Woodlands, TX, under the baton of Michael Krajewski. The composer served as narrator for this occasion.

The 3rd movement of this extended work concludes with an arrangement of “The Battle Hymn of the Republic”; this publication includes material for the use of SATB chorus if such an ensemble is available for performance.

The piece is structured as follows:
   I. Opening Fanfare
         Underscored Narration (written by Geoffrey P. Walker, throughout)
         Folksong Medley
                  a. My Country, ‘Tis of Thee
                  b. America, the Beautiful
                  c. Yankee Doodle Dandy
                  d. Columbia, the Gem of the Ocean
         Underscored Narration ~ attaca, mvt. II
   II. Armed Forced Medley: “We’re Proud To Serve”
                  a. Army
                  b. Navy
                  c. Air Force
                  d. Coast Guard
                  e. Marines
   III. The Star-Spangled Banner (reflective arrangement)
         Underscored Narration
         The Battle Hymn of the Republic
         Final Fanfare

( dur: 2:00″ )

Accompaniment Options:

An American Celebration has also been transcribed for wind ensemble by the arranger. This wind-band setting and the original orchestral version of this work are both available for this work on a rental-only basis from ECS Publishing.


Picc. / Fl. 3 4 Hn. Harp
2 Fl. 3 Tpt. (C)
2 Ob. 3 Trbn. Vln. 1
Eng. Hn. Tuba Vln. 2
2 Cl. (B-flat & A) Vla.
Bs. Cl. Timp. ‘Cello
2 Bsn. (Cbsn. opt.) 3 Perc. Bass