This expansive arrangement of the famous Appalachian folksong was commissioned in 2003 by pops conductor Michael J. Krajewski and premiered with the Houston Symphony Orchestra, shortly thereafter. The famous melody is handled gingerly in this treatment, with much use of subtle orchestral color and with prominent solo passages for horn, trumpet, flute, clarinet, oboe and violin. The music is lyrical and sweeping throughout, both beginning and ending with whispers of orchestral color with more voluminous symphonic heft in the central portion of the work.


Picc. / Fl. 3 4 Hn. Pno. / Cel.
2 Fl. 3 Tpt. (C)
2 Ob. 3 Trbn. Vln. 1
Eng. Hn. Tuba Vln. 2
2 Cl. (B-flat) Timp. Vla.
Bs. Cl. 3 Perc. Cello
2 Bsn. Harp Bass


The above materials may be secured for hire from the rental agent, ECS Publishing.

( dur: 5’ )

View: Shenandoah – Full Score, p1


Full Performance (National Symphony of London; arranger conducting).