RBM-104 | A Symphony of Carols
View Sample Pages:

SATB Vocal Score

SATB Full Orchestration


Symphony of Carols – excerpt 1
Symphony of Carols – excerpt 2
Symphony of Carols – excerpt 3
Symphony of Carols – excerpt 4

Symphony of Carols
SATB chorus with multiple accompaniments

This arrangement was written for the Dallas Symphony in 1997 and is dedicated to eminent film composer John Williams.

The following six carols are designed to be performed without interruption, and are fashioned in a form resembling that of a four-movement, choral symphony:

  • Chanticleer English
  • Pat-a-Pan / Fum, Fum, Fum French / Spanish
  • Stille Nacht (Silent Night) / Still, Still, Still German / English
  • Adeste Fideles (O Come, All Ye Faithful) Latin / English

( dur: 12:00″ )

Accompaniment Options:

The original, full orchestration (3333 / 4331, timp, 3 perc, hp, org, stgs), as well as a reduced orchestration (2121 / 2220, 2 perc, hp, org, stgs) are available for this work on a rental-only basis from ECS Publishing.


Picc. / Fl. 3 4 Hn. Organ
2 Fl. 3 Tpt. (C)
2 Ob. 3 Trbn. Vln. 1
ng. Hn. Tuba Vln. 2
2 Cl. (B-flat) Timp. Vla.
Bs. Cl. 3 Perc. Cello
2 Bsn. Harp Bass

The accompaniment has also been transcribed for wind ensemble by the arranger, this version being available for purchase [RBM-210].

The original, full-orchestral version of this piece appears on the Kodanja Records release A Feast of Carols, conducted by the composer and is available for purchase from Amazon.

Additional Voicings:

This arrangement has also been voiced for TTBB [RBM-104a] and may be performed using any of the available accompaniments.