RBM-117 | Glad Tidings

Glad Tidings
SATB chorus with various accompaniments

This arrangement was created in 2003 for the Houston Symphony Holiday Pops concerts and was designed as a 30-minute-long, musical / narrative telling of the Christmas story. Underscoring for the narrative is interspersed with carol arrangements, all of which is laid out in 7 movements in order to best illuminate and enhance the Biblical account:

  1. The Journey to Bethlehem
    O Little Town of Bethlehem (both tunes)
  2. The Birth of Jesus
    Away in a Manger
    What Child Is This?
  3. The Shepherds
    Angels We Have Heard on High
    Hark, the Herald Angels Sing
  4. The Wise Men
    March of the Kings
    We Three Kings of Orient Are
  5. The Nativity
    Silent Night
    Still, Still, Still
  6. One Solitary Life / Epiphany
    Lo, How a Rose E’er Blooming (orchestra and narrator only)
    Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence
  7. Peace and Goodwill
    Joy To The World
    O Come, All Ye Faithful

The work is scored for SATB chorus, full orchestra and narrator (the text for which is adapted and paraphrased from scripture and other sources by Charles Hausmann). The large orchestral accompaniment (3333 4331 timp 3 perc hp stgs) and the reduced orchestration (2121 222 2 perc hp stgs) are both available on a rental-only basis. View the orchestral materials.

( dur: 30:00″, including a short pause between each movement)

All rentals arranged through ECS Publishing.

View: Glad Tidings – SATB Vocal Score

View: Glad Tidings – Full Orchestration – first page

View: Glad Tidings – Reduced Orchestration – first page

View: Glad Tidings – Narration


Glad Tidings – excerpt 1
Glad Tidings – excerpt 2
Glad Tidings – excerpt 3
Glad Tidings – excerpt 4
Glad Tidings – excerpt 5
Glad Tidings – excerpt 6
Glad Tidings – excerpt 7