RBM-122 | O, Divine Music

O, Divine Music
SATB chorus with solo Piano or Piano with Brass and Percussion

This composition was commissioned by the Mendelssohn Choir of Connecticut in 2009, to commemorate the occasion of their 25th anniversary. Music Director Dr. Carole Anne Maxwell served as the conductor for the premiere of the work in the Spring of the following year.

The work was inspired by an anonymous text provided to the composer, which extols the beauties and glories of music – particularly those involving the choral art. (The full text underpinning this work is accessible below.) The composition falls into four brief movements.

The accompaniment forces for the work consist of brass quintet (2 tpts, hn, tbn & tuba), piano and 2 percussion [RBM-222], although the piece has been performed successfully using only the accompaniment provided as part of the choral scores. (Exact percussion requirements are included on the inside cover of the choral score).


( dur: 10:00″ )

All rentals arranged through ECS Publishing.

View: O, Divine Music – SATB Vocal Score

View: O, Divine Music – Text

View: O, Divine Music – Full Score – first page