RBM-111 | Salutations to the Dawn

Salutations to the Dawn
SATB chorus with Piano or Brass Quintet, Percussion and Organ

This composition was commissioned by the Fairfield University Glee Club of Fairfield, CT, and was created to help usher in, musically, the end of the old millennium and the start of the new one. The piece was premiered in the Spring of 2001, and the first performance was led by the then conductor of the ensemble, Carol Anne Maxwell.

The structure of the work is that of a brief choral symphony, with a strong melodic basis in the vocal parts and varied instrumental figuration in the accompaniment forces. Each of the 4 movements is quite unique in style and form, and could each be performed separately if the programming occasion warranted so doing.

The text is drawn from a number of sources, one for each of the 4 movements:

  1. Lao-Tsu
  2. Isaiah 58 (Holy Bible; paraphrased)
  3. St. Ignatius of Loyola
  4. Anonymous (from the Sanskrit)

The work is scored for brass quintet (2 tpt, hn, trbn & tuba), two percussion and organ, and the accompaniment package is available for purchase [RBM-207].

( dur: 10:00″ )

All rentals arranged through ECS Publishing.

View: Salutations to the Dawn – SATB Vocal Score

View: Salutations to the Dawn – Full Score – first page

View: Salutations to the Dawn – Text