RBM-112 | Southwestern Suite

Southwestern Suite
SATB chorus with various accompaniments

In 1981, the composer was asked to create an arrangement of Texas folksongs for mixed chorus and piano, to be performed by the UT Chamber Chorus — Morris J. Beachy, conductor — at a special event, sponsored by the chancellor’s office at the University of Texas.

Six folksongs were finally chosen, which appear in this fashion and are designed to be performed without pause:

  1. Green Grow the Lilacs
  2. Whoopie-Ti-Yi-Yo
  3. Shall We Gather at the River
  4. Red River Valley
  5. O, Rio
  6. Skip to My Lou

Many years following the creation of the original, piano-accompanied version of this set, the arranger was asked to create both full symphonic and wind-ensemble accompaniments to go with the extant choral parts. The full orchestration (3333 4331 timp 3 perc hp pno stgs) is available on a rental only basis, while the wind ensemble version is available for purchase [RBM-211].

( dur: 13:00 ” )

All rentals arranged through ECS Publishing.

View: Southwestern Suite – SATB Vocal Score

View: Southwestern Suite – Full Orchestration – first page

View: Southwestern Suite – Wind Ensemble Version – first page


Southwestern Suite – excerpt 1
Southwestern Suite – excerpt 2
Southwestern Suite – excerpt 3
Southwestern Suite – excerpt 4
Southwestern Suite – excerpt 5
Southwestern Suite – excerpt 6